IEC leadership

The Officers of the IEC are individuals elected or appointed by the General Assembly. All of the IEC Officers can be contacted via the IEC Secretariat.

Philippe Metzger self portrait
Yinbiao Shu

Dr Shu became IEC President on 1 January 2020, for a three-year term, having served as President-Elect since 1 January 2019. Prior to that, Dr Shu served as Convenor of the Market Strategy Board (MSB) from June 2012 until the end of 2018 and IEC Vice-President from 2013 to 2018 with the specific responsibility of leading both the MSB membership renewal and its technology-watch effort. At present, he is Chairman of the China Huaneng Group and is also a senior member of IEEE.

The IEC President represents the Commission and is the Chair of General Assembly, the IB (IEC Board ) and the PresCom (President’s Committee ) as well as the MSB (Market Strategy Board). The President serves a three-year term and cannot be re-elected.


Philippe Metzger self portrait
Jo Cops
President Elect and Treasurer

Mr Cops became IEC Treasurer on 1 January 2018 and IEC President-Elect on 1 January 2022. He led the Belgian Electrotechnical Committee (CEB-BEC) as the Secretary-General from 2012 to August 2021. Mr Cops started his career in 1990 with Sony Belgium and subsequently held various management positions within Sony Europe, the Belgian cable operator (Telenet), and Alpha Technologies Europe, with responsibilities pertaining to sales, budgeting, pricing, marketing and strategic planning. In CENELEC, Mr Cops is a member of the Working Group Policy and the BT Efficiency group.

The Treasurer is responsible for the finances of the IEC and reports directly to General Assembly.

Before becoming the President of the IEC, the elected person holds the position of President-Elect for one year. After holding the position of President, the person becomes the Immediate Past President for a period of two years before becoming a Past President.

Philippe Metzger self portrait
Shawn Paulsen

Mr Paulsen began his three-year term as Chair of the Conformity Assessment Board and IEC Vice-President on 1 January 2018. At present, he is the Manager of Conformity Assessment within the CSA Group in Canada. Previously he was the Chief Electrical Inspector in the Department of Public Safety for the New Brunswick Provincial Electrical Regulator and was the Provincial representative on national codes, standards and conformity assessment committees. Mr Paulsen was a member of the CAB from 2012 to 2017 and has wide experience in both technical and policy standards work having been involved with a number of Canadian and international activities.

The Chair of the CAB is an ex officio Vice-President for the duration of his/her term. The elected person is responsible for the conformity assessment work of the IEC, including the systems.

Philippe Metzger self portrait
Ralph Sporer

Dr Sporer began his second three-year term as Chair of the Standardization Management Board and IEC Vice-President on 1 January 2020. He joined the Siemens Company in 1996 and is at present Manager for Standardization and Regulation after having held various positions in research and development and consulting within the company. Dr Sporer was Chair of the IEC Advisory Committee on Energy Efficiency from 2013 to 2016 and has also been chairing the European Smart Grid Coordination Group since 2010.

The Chair of the SMB is an ex officio Vice-President for the duration of his/her term. The elected person is responsible for the standardization work of the IEC.

Philippe Metzger self portrait
Kazuhiko Tsutsumi

Dr Tsutsumi began his second three-year term as IEC Vice-President on 1 January 2022 with the specific task of helping to build stronger relationships between IEC and industry leaders, supporting the market and technology watch scanning activity, and further strengthening the collaboration with CAB and SMB on priorities set by MSB. Prior to that, Dr Tsutsumi has served as a member of the IEC Board from June 2017 until the end of 2018 and member of the MSB from 2015 to 2017.

At present, he is Corporate Advisor at Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, where he has worked for more than 35 years.
The Chair of the MSB is an ex officio Vice-President for the duration of his term. The elected person is responsible for the market strategy work of the IEC.


Philippe Metzger self portrait
Philippe Metzger

Mr Metzger became IEC Secretary-General and CEO on 1 February 2020. Prior to joining IEC, he was Director-General of the Swiss Federal Office of Communications (OFCOM). Mr Metzger was also previously Deputy to the Director of the Development Bureau at the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and Director of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). Trained as a lawyer, Mr Metzger has issued several publications on the World Trade Organization (WTO) and competition law.

The Secretary-General is the Chief Executive Officer of the Commission and is responsible for its day-to-day operations.